11 November 2023 | General

Bowe, Zukanovic Split Saturday Bathurst Wins

John Bowe and Marcus Zukanovic have shared the race wins in today’s two Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters races at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International.

For Bowe it was a fairytale start to his final full-time weekend at Mount Panorama, claiming this morning’s Trophy Race from a hard-charging Andrew Fisher by little more than three tenths of a second, .

The Trophy Race was run without any major incidents to speak of, however Race One featured plenty of drama as several entries found trouble around Mount Panorama.

At the start Cameron Tilley managed to hang around the outside of pole sitter Zukanovic around Hell Corner off the front row, and used the Valiant Pacer’s superior straight line speed to stay side-by-side along Mountain Straight, though Zukanovic prevailed under brakes at Griffins Bend.

From that moment onwards, Zukanovic would be untroubled in his Ford Falcon XD, whilst Tilley would soon find himself behind Andrew Fisher’s Jesus Racing Torana A9X, with Trophy Race winner Bowe also lurking.

Fisher would then suffer a failure in the rear of the car on the run to Forrests Elbow on lap three, fortunately avoiding contact with both the wall and Tilley’s pursuing Valiant.

Brad Tilley – who finished third in the Trophy Race – wouldn’t be so fortunate, as a puncture sent him into the wall at Griffins Bend on the final lap, with the Ford Mustang Coupe nearly ending up on it’s roof as it rode up the tyre wall.

Zukanovic would take the chequered flag ahead of Bowe, whilst Cameron Tilley would hold off a hard-charging Ryan Hansford for third in a side by side finish at the line, taking the Pro Am victory in the process.

Ben Dunn won the Pro Am class in the Trophy Race with fourth outright in his Fast Meals / Bespoke Financial Advisory Chevrolet Monza.

The Pro Sports wins were split between John Adams in his Ford Falcon XY GT (Trophy Race) and the Holden Monaro HQ of Warren Trewin (Race One).

The Invitational class wins were swept by the Ford Mustang of New Zealand’s John Buchanan.

Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters returns for two more races tomorrow at 10:35am AEDT and 2:05pm AEDT.

You can catch all the action live, ad break free, and on demand on Stan Sport.