16 February 2023 | General

Further details revealed for TCR World Tour

Promoter of the TCR World Tour, WSC has confirmed further details ahead of the global touring car class launching at Portimao, Portugal in April.

All but two events on the calendar have been confirmed as the opening Australian leg and final round are to be announced, with the latest to be revealed being part of TCR South America.

Portimao kicks off the inaugural TCR World Tour on April 28-30 with the next stop being at the legendary Spa-Francorchamps circuit on May 26-28, both of these TCR Europe events will be contested by Supercheap Auto TCR Australia race winner Ben Bargwanna.

Aligning with TCR Italy for the third round at Vallelunga on June 9-11, the TCR World Tour finishes its European leg at the Hungaroring on June 16-18 before the TCR South American leg.

Returning on August 18-20 at Uruguay’s Autodromo El Pinar, the next stop is the Autodromo Rosendo Hernandez circuit in Argentina a week later as the Australian leg follows.

The first round is yet to be revealed, but the challenge of Mount Panorama follows on November 10-12 as part of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International.

The final round is yet to be confirmed, but will be hosted by TCR Asia Challenge.

Qualifying and race formats will remain the same as regular Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series events, though will be the only time the TCR World Tour contest three races during a weekend.

The drivers of Supercheap Auto TCR Australia will be able to score not only points for the local title, but for the TCR World Tour and the ranking as well, which increase in alignment with the global series.

Points formats are below:

Qualifying final results: 1st/15 pts; 2nd/10 pts; 3rd/8 pts; 4th/6 pts; 5th/4 pts; 6th/2 pt

Races: 1st/30 pts; 2nd/25 pts; 3rd/22 pts; 4th/20 pts; 5th/18 pts; 6th/16 pts; 7th/14 pts; 8th/12 pts; 9th/10 pts; 10th/8 pts; 11th/6 pts; 12th/4 pts; 13th/3 pts; 14th/2 pts; 15th/1 pt

Of course, registered TCR World Tour entries cannot score points in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia.

The first 15 drivers in the general classification of the TCR World Tour will automatically qualify for the world final and will be joined by a further 15 following the TCR World Ranking play-offs.

A maximum of 16 full season entries will be accepted for the TCR World Tour where the Kumho TCR World Cup will be awarded to the best Driver and Team from the nine events.

Audi through Comtoyou Racing and Cyan Racing’s Lynk & Co attack have already been confirmed to participate in the TCR World Tour.

In the meantime, the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series begins at AWC Race Tasmania on February 24-26.

CLICK HERE for tickets.

Stan Sport will provide live, uninterrupted and on-demand coverage of all Shannons SpeedSeries rounds. AWC Race Tasmania will also feature free-to-air broadcasting on the Nine Network’s digital channels on Saturday afternoon from 2-5pm (February 25).